Best Music in Gaming

This is a list of games I found to have a beautiful soundtrack:

  1. The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time
  2. The Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask
  3. Shadow of the Colossus
  4. Super Mario Galaxy
  5. Metal Gear Solid
  6. Super Mario 64
  7. Mario Kart 64
  8. Pokemon: Yellow Version
  9. Metroid Prime
  10. Metroid Prime 2: Echoes
  11. Super Metroid
  12. Diddy Kong Racing
  13. Star Fox Adventures
  14. The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker
  15. Metroid Prime 3: Corruption
  16. Halo: Combat Evolved
  17. Rayman 2: The Great Escape
  18. Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots
  19. The Legend of Zelda: Spirit Tracks
  20. Super Mario World 2: Yoshi’s Island
  21. Super Smash Bros. Melee
  22. Super Smash Bros.
  23. Conker’s Bad Fur Day
  24. The Legend of Zelda: The Minish Cap
  25. GoldenEye 007
  26. Mega Man 2
  27. The Legend of Zelda: Link’s Awakening
  28. Super Mario World
  29. Super Mario Sunshine
  30. Castlevania IV
  31. The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past
  32. The Legend of Zelda: Oracle of Ages
  33. Beyond Good & Evil
  34. Pokemon: Crystal Version
  35. Portal 2
  36. Eternal Darkness: Sanity’s Requiem
  37. The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword
  38. Mario Golf: Toadstool Tour
  39. Super Mario Galaxy 2
  40. Resident Evil 4
  41. World of Goo
  42. The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers
  43. Perfect Dark
  44. Uncharted 2: Among Thieves
  45. Uncharted: Drake’s Fortune
  46. Journey
  47. The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King
  48. Halo 2
  49. God of War
  50. Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty
  51. Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater
  52. Yoshi’s Story
  53. WWE Day of Reckoning
  54. Super Mario Land
  55. F-Zero GX
  56. Rush 2: Extreme Racing
  57. Super Mario Bros. 3
  58. Ico
  59. The Legend of Zelda: Oracle of Seasons
  60. WWE Day of Reckoning 2

 

3 thoughts on “Best Music in Gaming

  1. Really solid list, but I see you skew Nintendoish, not that they don’t have some of the most memorable game scores in gaming history. Have you ever checked out Video Games Live? It’s a traveling concert where they do suites from video games in concert settings. I was lucky enough to get to go to one of the very first a few years ago with my wife at The Hollywood Bowl and it was so much fun. They did a suite from Sonic the Hedgehog but before it began, they had a full choir there just to sing the SEEEEEEGGGGGAAAAA that would play every time you booted it up lol. Some ones I would add to the list: the Mass Effect series, Gears of War 1&4, Medal of Honor, Battlefield 1, Elder Scrolls: Oblivion & Skyrim, HALO, and a few others I’m sure I’m forgetting. Here’s a blogging tip specific to WordPress that no one told me until I’d been doing this like a year. WP has a 15 tag rule if they’re going to showcase any posts and circulate them in feeds. If you have more than 15 tags its unlikely they or any search engines will pick you up. I had no clue. I thought the more the better, but they apparently do not. It’s agonizing sometimes especially with list posts to cut it to 15 but after 3,000 something posts I kind of do it automatically now. Just a lesson learned. Good idea for a list!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for this useful feedback as always. This is a guilty pleasure of mine, since most of my gaming life has been exposed to Nintendo. I am doing what I can to play non-Nintendo titles. Your feedback has helped me remember that there are some soundtracks I completely missed, so I added more on the list.

      I love anything that deals with remixed versions of themes like Mega Man 2 for instance. Sounds like you had a great time in that event.

      I have the first Halo on the list so far. Need to replay Halo 2 and 3 enough times to bump it up on the list.

      Dude, thank you for that tip. You are a life saver. I will take this as gospel, and limit all my posts to 15 or less tags. Greatly appreciated. You are very kind.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Not at all, it’s just something I fricking wish someone had told me and I think it was months before I asked why my traffic was so low and a WP admin looked over my site and told me the rule, arrrrrgh! The admins are very helpful, actually, and gave me a lot of tips, but that one is one that didn’t even occur to me and they should tell to new bloggers. Mega Man 2 I just got in the Mega Man Collection last night for the Xbox One. Phenomenal game and I can hear the theme in my head right now lol. Keep up the good work!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

