M. Night Shyamalan’s The Last Airbender is what I consider to be a highly underappreciated and misunderstood film by mainstream media and the American public. This first post I wrote is not only just an introductory statement, but a foreshadowed taste of what is expected to come in future posts. I believe my position to defend this severely underrated work of art can be a more rational and easier stance to defend than the other extreme side of the spectrum. Yes, one’s views on any art form is subjective. There is no denying that. However, my challenge to all readers watching any piece of cinema is to come with an open and critical perspective. The one thing that inspired me to say something about defending this film, or any M. Night Shyamalan work, is how poorly critiqued it was from mainstream media followed by the public borrowing the same so-called justifiable conclusions. I challenge that the film’s content contradict these irrational views, and my plan is to explore this further in the near future. Stay tuned for more.

